Agenda at a Glance

Sunday April, 7

3:00pm-6:00pm Registration Open

6:00pm-8:30pm Informal Gathering at Hyatt Crystal City Hotel (No Host Bar)
Tidewater II Room at Hyatt Regency Crystal City

Monday April, 8

7:00am-8:45am Registration and Continental Breakfast

8:45am-9:00am Welcome and opening remarks
Sam Spofforth, President, Transportation Energy Partners and Executive Director, Clean Fuels Ohio

9:00am-10:15am State of Clean Transportation Industry: Barriers and Opportunities – Roundtable of Industry Leaders
Moderator: Karen Hamberg, Vice President, Sustainable Energy Futures, Westport Innovations, Inc.
Daniel S. LeFevers, Vice President, Federal Affairs, Waste Management
A.S. (“Butch”) Gosline, Commercial Business Manager, Ford Motor Company
William Dawson, Senior Vice President Product Management, Volvo Group North America
Genevieve Cullen, Vice President, Electric Drive Transportation Association

Roundtable Sponsored by Westport Innovations and Cummins Westport

10:15am-10:30am NETWORKING BREAK

10:30am-11:00am Keynote Address
Sharon E. Burke, Assistant Secretary, U.S. Department of Defense, Office of Operational Energy Plans and Programs

11:00am-12:30pm Presentations on Innovative State Policies and Programs
Moderator: Phil Squair, Senior VP Public & Government Affairs, National Propane Gas Association
Tom Brotherton, Regional Director, CALSTART
Cathie France, Deputy Director, Virginia Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy
Dr. Kathryn Clay, Executive Director, Drive Natural Gas Alliance
Richard Tempchin, Executive Director, Retail Energy Services, Edison Electric Institute
Jeffrey Clarke, General Counsel & Director, Regulatory Affairs, Natural Gas Vehicles for America

Roundtable Sponsored by Roush CleanTech, Alliance AutoGas, and the National Propane Gas Association

Heather Zichal, Deputy Assistant to the President on Energy and Climate Change

Luncheon Sponsored by Clean Energy

1:45pm-2:30pm Roundtable on Innovative Finance Mechanisms for Alternative Fuels and Vehicles
Moderator: Ruth Horton, Senior Advisor for Strategic Initiatives, New York State Energy Research and Development Authority (NYSERDA)
Nick Nigro, Senior Manager, Transportation Initiatives, Center for Climate and Energy Solutions
Julia Friedman, Program Manager, National Association of State Energy Officials

2:30pm-3:15pm Biodiesel and Renewable Fuels Policy in the Current Washington Climate
Anne Steckel, Vice President of Federal Affairs, National Biodiesel Board
Karin Johanson, Principal, Dewey Square Group

3:15pm-3:30pm NETWORKING BREAK

3:30pm-3:50pm Presentation on the Role of Biofuels in Reducing Dependence on Oil
Tom Buis, CEO, Growth Energy

3:50pm-4:30pm Presentation on Key Federal Policies for Advancing Clean Fuels and Vehicles. Followed by Q&A and audience discussion
Phillip Wiedmeyer, Vice President Transportation Energy Partners & Chairman, Alabama Clean Fuels Coalition
Paul Kerkhoven, Director of Government Affairs, Natural Gas Vehicles for America

4:30pm-5:30pm Tools for Effective Ongoing Education and Advocacy for Clean Vehicles and Fuels
Ken Brown, Transportation Energy Partners

5:30pm-7:30pm Salute to Clean Cities 20th Anniversary Reception

Tuesday April, 9 – Capitol Hill Day

7:00am-8:00am Breakfast at Hotel

8:00am Buses/Vans Leave for Capitol Hill

8:45am-9:45am Briefing on Capitol Hill with Members of Congress and Staff

10:00am-6:00pm Meetings with Congressional Offices
Clean Cities Coordinators and other Summit participants will participate in a full dat of meeting with key Congressional Committees and offices.

5:30pm-7:30pm Capitol Hill Energy Independence Reception
UPS Town House 421 New Jersey Avenue, SE
Congressman Paul Tonko (D-NY)
Jim Bruce, Vice President, Corporate Affairs, UPS

Wednesday April, 10

7:00am-9:00am Breakfast at Hotel (Debrief Capitol Hill Day Meetings)

9:00am-10:15am The Administration’s Clean Transportation Priorities for 2012 and Beyond: Roundtable of Senior Federal Agency Officials
Moderator: Ken Brown, Transportation Energy Partners
Michael Carr, Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary, Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy
Karl Simon, Director, Transportation and Climate Division, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Camron Gorguinpour, Special Assistant, United States Air Force Office of the Assistant Secretary Installations, Environment & Logistics
Lillian Salerno, Acting Administrator for Rural Business Services, U.S. Department of Agriculture
Gregory Nadeau, Deputy Administrator, Federal Highway Administration

10:15am-10:30am NETWORKING BREAK

10:30am-12:00pm Speed Dating with Federal Agency Clean Transportation Officials: Marketplace for Individual Meetings and Networking
Department of Energy: Dennis Smith and Linda Bluestein
Department of Agriculture: Anthony Crooks
Department of Defense: Jim Gough, Marine Corps Installations Command
Department of Defense: Christina Hastings, Navel Facilities Engineering Command
Federal Highway Administration: Michael Koontz
Federal Transit Administration: Vanessa Williams
Energy Vision: Joanna Underwood and Matt Tomich


***Please note that the agenda above for EIS 2013 will be modified, with additional speakers added as the event nears.